L’air du café…

Cafe Cropped arrCoffee is a must! Morning or afternoon, I enjoy cozying up to a ceramic mug filled with this hot liquid gold. Arguably closer to bronze, in colour, tone is irrelevant. As long as it smells good, and is strong enough to wake me up and keep me going through the day, I love coffee; my preferred afternoon pick-me-up.

Bistro Chairs cropped arrLanding in Paris, a.k.a. bistro central, how could I passé on the café? To do so would be unthinkable, for me, and perhaps to coffee-lovers everywhere. For the love of coffee, my ‘joie de vivre,’ I retreated to one of the many cafés in the city of lights.

Already familiar with Turkish-style coffee, I would liken Parisian coffee to be just as strong. Its consistency is by no means watered-down like cafe Americano, which I am often exposed to back home. I usually only take milk in my coffee, but even I found my Parisian café-drinking experience more pleasurable with the addition of sugar. However you like it, I would describe French coffee as bold, robust and authentic in flavour. To my understanding, French café is coffee made the right way – the real deal.

When in Paris, you’ll note a distinguishable scent looming in the air – it’s the smell of coffee. If you crave it, lookout for a set of neatly arranged chairs in any arrondissement (district), and you’ll be sure to find a well-dressed waiter to serve you a cup of joy. Having tasted French café in a Parisian bistro and the McDonald’s along the Avenue des Champs-Élysées, I can honestly rate both drinks as very good. The main distinction, then, lies in the manner of service and the atmosphere. Wherever you decide to take your Parisian coffee break, remember two things: first, rejoice in knowing cafés are within arms-reach; and, second, the city of love is not entirely ‘in love’ with drive-thrus – no Timmies here, just so you know!

Copyright © DISHFUL, 2013.

Leave a Reply

